Sconce & Socket earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick. Full disclosure.
| # | Product | Best for | Lumens | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() Feit Electric MR16 GU10 Adjustable White LED, 50W Equivalent (BPMR16GU10503CCTCA/3) The default bulb for a track head | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 450 lm | $12.08 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
| 02 | ![]() Luxrite GU10 LED Spotlight, 5 Color Selectable, 6.5W (LR21504) A track in a living room, where 2700K matters | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 500 lm | $38.49 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
| 03 | ![]() Feit Electric MR16 GU10 Adjustable White LED, 75W Equivalent (BPMR16GU10753CCTCA/3) High ceilings and long throws | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 600 lm | $12.21 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
| 04 | ![]() DEWENWILS GU10 LED Bulb, Dimmable, 7W, 3000K, 6-Pack Filling a whole track for the least money | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 500 lm | |
| 05 | ![]() DiCUNO ProOE GU10 LED Bulb, CRI 98, 5W, 3000K, 6-Pack Rooms where what the light lands on has color worth seeing | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 400 lm | $22.99 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
| 06 | ![]() Soraa Vivid MR16 GU10, 7.5W, 3000K, 10 Degree Narrow Spot (SM16GA-07-10D-930-03) Accenting a picture, a plant or a worktop, not a room | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 410 lm | $26.35 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
| 07 | ![]() Philips Hue Hue White and Color Ambiance GU10 Smart Spotlight A track you want to dim or recolor without a dimmer switch | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. | 450 lm at 4000K | $109.99 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
| 08 | ![]() Sunco Lighting MR16 Two-Pin LED Bulb, 5.5W, 5000K, 12-Pack A low-voltage track or a range hood, where the pins push straight in | A bulb swap, but only in a fixture that already runs at 12V. | 550 lm | $19.99 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn |
Specifications are the manufacturer or retailer published figures, compiled by hand. We have not measured them, and where a figure is not published we write "Not published" rather than guess.
01
The base decides everything else
A GU10 is not a screw-in bulb. It has two blunt pins with small feet on the ends, spaced 10 mm apart, and it goes in with a push and a quarter turn. Philips describes the same distinction the other way round for the bulb it is most often confused with: an MR16 on a GU5.3 base has two thin needle pins 5.3 mm apart that push straight in and do not twist.
The difference that matters is not the pins but what is behind them. A GU10 runs on line voltage - the 120V already in the ceiling - and connects directly to the circuit. A GU5.3 MR16 runs on 12V and needs a transformer between the circuit and the socket. They are not interchangeable in either direction, and a fixture is built for one or the other.
What makes this genuinely confusing is that MR16 is a shape, not a base. It describes a reflector about two inches across. Feit, Amazon Basics and Soraa all sell bulbs called MR16 that have a GU10 base and run on 120V; Sunco sells MR16 bulbs with a GU5.3 base that run on 12V. Two products with the same name in the title, and only one of them fits your head. Buy by the base.
If your ceiling takes screw-in flood bulbs rather than twist-lock spots, you are in different territory - see the BR30 bulbs recessed cans were built around instead. The full naming system is in bulb shapes and bases.
02
How we chose: five criteria, in order
Track bulbs are sold almost entirely on wattage equivalence, which tells you nothing useful. These are the specifications that decide whether a head does its job, in the order they matter.
- Base and voltage. A GU10 bulb for a 120V head, or a GU5.3 bulb for a 12V head. Everything else is irrelevant if the bulb will not go in, and a mismatch is the single most common reason these get returned.
- Beam angle. This is what a track head is for - putting light on something in particular - and it is the figure most listings omit. A 40 degree beam washes a counter or a wall. A 10 degree beam puts a defined circle on one picture. Buy the wrong one and no amount of aiming fixes it. The geometry is in beam angle and spread.
- CRI. Track lighting is nearly always pointed at something worth looking at: food on a counter, art on a wall, a bookshelf. Color rendering decides whether those look right. CRI 90 is the floor for a first pick here; the case for it is in best high-CRI LED bulbs.
- Dimming. Tracks are often wired to a dimmer, and a non-dimmable bulb on a dimmer will buzz, flicker or simply refuse to work. One pick below is not dimmable, and it says so in bold. Which dimmer suits an LED load is covered in dimmer compatibility.
- Lumens and color temperature, per head. A track divides its light between heads, so the per-bulb figure is what you plan with. Color temperature matters as much: most GU10 LEDs start at 3000K, and a living room usually wants 2700K.
We did not test these bulbs in a lab. Every figure below is the manufacturer's published specification, or the retailer listing where the maker publishes none, and the page it came from is in the sources at the foot of this page. Where two sources disagree, we say so rather than printing the flattering number.
03
The picks at a glance
| Bulb | Base | Lumens | CRI | Beam | Dimmable | Color |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feit BPMR16GU10503CCTCA | GU10, 120V | 450 | 90 | 40 deg | Yes | 3000K / 4000K / 5000K |
| Luxrite LR21504 | GU10, 120V | 500 | 90 | 40 deg | Yes | 2700K to 5000K |
| Feit BPMR16GU10753CCTCA | GU10, 120V | 600 | 90 | 40 deg | Yes | 3000K / 4000K / 5000K |
| DEWENWILS 6-pack | GU10 | 500 | Not published | Not published | Yes | 3000K |
| DiCUNO ProOE | GU10 | 400 | 98 | 35 deg | No | 3000K |
| Soraa Vivid SM16GA | GU10, 120V | 410 | 95 (R9 95) | 10 deg | Yes | 3000K |
| Philips Hue GU10 | GU10, 110-130V | 450 at 4000K | Not published | Not published | App only | 2000K to 6500K |
| Sunco MR16 two-pin | GU5.3, 12V | 550 | 80+ | 40 deg | Yes | 5000K |
Prices move daily, so we do not print them in the text. As a bracket: the multipacks from Feit, Luxrite, DEWENWILS, DiCUNO and Sunco all sit in the ordinary LED multipack range, a few dollars a bulb. The Soraa and the Hue are several times that per socket and are bought for one specific reason each. The live price, where Amazon publishes one, is on each buy button.
04
The picks
Feit Electric BPMR16GU10503CCTCA - the pick. 450 lumens from 6 watts at CRI 90, a 40 degree beam, dimmable, damp rated, and switchable between 3000K, 4000K and 5000K on the bulb itself. That combination - published CRI 90 and real dimming at an ordinary multipack price - is rarer in GU10 than in a standard A19, and the selectable color means one pack can serve a kitchen track at 4000K and a hallway at 3000K. Feit publishes 25,000 hours and a 5-year warranty, the longest here.
Cons: the warmest setting is 3000K, so a living room that wants 2700K is out; the color is set before the bulb goes in the head, so changing it means taking it back out; 40 degrees is the only beam it offers; sold in threes, so a six-head track needs two packs. If you know you want plain 3000K and no switch, Feit sells the same output as a fixed bulb.
Luxrite LR21504 - the one that does 2700K. Five settings from 2700K to 5000K, 500 lumens from 6.5 watts, CRI 90, a 40 degree beam and TRIAC dimming, all published on Luxrite's own page. It is the only selectable GU10 we found whose range reaches down to 2700K, which is the setting most living rooms and bedrooms actually want. If your track is in a room people relax in rather than work in, this is the pick.
Cons: the priciest of the plain white picks per bulb; a 3-year warranty against Feit's 5; the same 40 degree flood beam; and the enclosed fixture rating appears on the Amazon listing but not on Luxrite's own page, so we would not rely on it for a sealed fitting.
Feit Electric BPMR16GU10753CCTCA - for high ceilings. The same bulb as the pick with a third more light: 600 lumens from 7 watts, CRI 90, 40 degrees, 25,000 hours. Light falls off with distance faster than people expect, so a head ten feet up throwing at a counter needs more output than the same head on an eight-foot ceiling. This is the cheapest way to buy that margin.
Cons: still no 2700K; a brighter head glares more if it sits in your sightline; and the 75W-equivalent label muddles the one check worth doing, which is the head's own wattage rating - 7 actual watts is far inside a 50-watt head.
DEWENWILS 6-pack GU10 - the cheapest way to fill a track. 500 lumens at 3000K, dimmable, six to a pack, at roughly a third of the per-bulb price of the name brands. A track with mismatched bulbs looks worse than a track with cheap ones, and six identical bulbs for the price of three is how you fix a half-dead track in one order.
Cons: no CRI published anywhere, so color quality is genuinely unknown; no beam angle published either, so you cannot predict the pool of light before it arrives; no manufacturer spec page we could open; and 7 watts for 500 lumens makes it the least efficient mains-voltage pick here.
DiCUNO ProOE GU10 - the highest color rendering, if you never dim. CRI 98 claimed, 400 lumens from 5 watts at 3000K, with a 35 degree beam - tighter than everything else here bar the Soraa. For a bookshelf, a gallery wall or a kitchen where food is the subject, color rendering is the specification you feel.
Cons: not dimmable, which rules it out of any track on a dimmer and is the single biggest reason to skip it; 400 lumens is the least light of the mains-voltage picks; the CRI 98 figure is the seller's own, on the listing only, with no third-party test behind it; and no rated life or warranty is published at all.
Soraa Vivid MR16 GU10, 10 degree - the only real accent beam. 410 lumens at 3000K with CRI 95 and R9 95 - the deep-red figure that decides whether wood, skin and red objects look alive or muddy, and the only R9 number published for any bulb on this page. The 10 degree beam is the point: it lands a defined circle on a painting or a plant instead of washing the wall around it.
Cons: by far the most expensive bulb here, several times the price of a three-pack of the Feit; a 10 degree beam is wrong for general light, so this is a second bulb for one or two heads, not a whole track; Soraa's own spec sheet is a PDF we could not open, so the figures come from a distributor listing; and the Amazon listing states neither the model number nor a pack count.
Philips Hue White and Color Ambiance GU10 - dimming without a dimmer. 450 lumens at 4000K, adjustable from 2000K to 6500K plus color, at 4.7 watts, with 110-130V input and 25,000 hours published for the US model. It works over Bluetooth for up to ten bulbs before a Hue Bridge is needed. For a renter with a track on a plain switch, this is the way to get dimming without touching the wiring - see renter-friendly smart lighting.
Cons: several times the cost per head of everything else; no CRI published for this model; a 2-year warranty against Feit's 5; no beam angle published; and it has to stay powered at the wall, so anyone who flips the switch off out of habit breaks the control until it goes back on.
Sunco MR16 two-pin, 12-pack - only if your track is 12V. This is the bulb people order by mistake, and the right answer when the fixture genuinely is low voltage: a GU5.3 two-pin at 550 lumens and 5000K, twelve to a pack, 25,000 hours and UL listed per the listing. The same base turns up in a lot of range hoods, which is the other place this pack earns its keep.
Cons: it will not fit a GU10 head - the pins are closer together and push in rather than twisting; it needs a working 12V transformer, which is where low-voltage tracks usually fail; 5000K only in this pack, which is cold for a living space; and Sunco's own GU5.3 page lists a 5W bulb at 500 lumens and CRI 80+ where the listing sells a 5.5W at 550, so the two sources do not agree.
05
Which one, by situation
A kitchen track over a counter. The Feit 50W-equivalent set to 4000K, or the 75W-equivalent if the ceiling is high. CRI 90 on food, a 40 degree beam that covers a working width, and dimming for the evening.
A living room or bedroom track. The Luxrite at 2700K. It is the only pick here that reaches the temperature a room people relax in should be, and the reason why is in 2700K vs 3000K.
Lighting a picture, a plant or an object. The Soraa Vivid at 10 degrees in one or two heads, with ordinary flood bulbs in the rest. Buying eight narrow spots gives you eight bright circles and a dark room.
A whole track to re-bulb on a budget. The DEWENWILS six-pack. Accept that CRI and beam angle are unpublished, and buy it for a hallway or a utility run rather than over a dining table.
A rental where the track is on a plain switch. The Hue GU10, which brings dimming and color temperature without a wall change your lease would have to allow. What you can and cannot change is in can you change a light fixture in an apartment.
A fixture whose bulbs have thin pins that pull straight out. The Sunco GU5.3 pack - that is a 12V fixture, and no GU10 on this page will fit it.
No track yet. Buy the fixture first and the bulbs second, and prefer a head that takes standard bulbs over an integrated LED - the comparison is in best track lighting, and the renter-safe version that runs off an outlet is in plug-in track lighting.
06
Fitting them without regret
Power off, then push and twist. A GU10 goes in with a push and a quarter turn clockwise, and comes out with a push and a quarter turn the other way. It should not need force. If it does, the pins are not seated in the slots - back off and start again rather than leaning on a bulb over your head.
Check the head's wattage rating once, then forget it. A typical GU10 track head is rated to 50 watts, which was a halogen limit. Every mains-voltage bulb here draws between 4.7 and 7.5 actual watts, so you are nowhere near it - the 50W or 75W equivalence printed on the box is not what the rating refers to.
Aim the heads before you judge the bulbs. A 40 degree beam from eight feet up lands a pool of light roughly six feet across; the same head at 10 degrees lands about sixteen inches. Most complaints about track lighting are aiming problems, not bulb problems.
One color temperature per track. The eye judges a single white badly and two adjacent whites extremely well. Four heads at 3000K and two at 4000K will look wrong from across the room even though every bulb is fine on its own.
If the track is dimmed, buy dimmable and check the dimmer. Six LED bulbs at 6 watts is a 36 watt load, which is below the minimum some older dimmers need to run steadily. That, not the bulb, is the usual cause of flicker at the low end - see dimmer compatibility and why dimmable LEDs flicker.
The picks
Every pick in full
01

The default bulb for a track head
Feit Electric MR16 GU10 Adjustable White LED, 50W Equivalent (BPMR16GU10503CCTCA/3)
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
450 lumens at CRI 90 with three color temperatures set on the bulb, dimmable, damp rated, and the only pick here with a 5-year warranty.
| Lumens | 450 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 3000K, 4000K or 5000K, set on the bulb |
| CRI | 90 |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (6W, 120V) |
| Dimmable | Yes, with LED-compatible dimmers |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- CRI 90 published, and it dims - the only picks that do both are this and the Luxrite
- Three color temperatures on one bulb, so a kitchen and a living room can share a pack
- 40 degree beam, 25,000 hour rated life and a 5-year warranty on Feit's page
- Damp rated, and Feit lists it as enclosed fixture rated
What it costs you
- The warmest setting is 3000K - there is no 2700K on this one
- The color is set before the bulb goes in; changing it later means taking it back out
- 40 degrees is the only beam angle offered, so it cannot do a narrow accent
- Sold in threes, so a four or six head track needs two packs
Spec source: Feit Electric - BPMR16GU10503CCTCA/3 adjustable white GU10 MR16 (450 lm, 6W, CRI 90, 40 degree, 25,000 hours, damp, 5-year warranty) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
02

A track in a living room, where 2700K matters
Luxrite GU10 LED Spotlight, 5 Color Selectable, 6.5W (LR21504)
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
The only pick whose selectable range starts at 2700K, at 500 lumens and CRI 90, with TRIAC dimming.
| Lumens | 500 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 2700K, 3000K, 3500K, 4000K or 5000K, set on the bulb |
| CRI | 90 |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (6.5W, 120V) |
| Dimmable | Yes, TRIAC dimmers per Luxrite |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- 2700K is in the range, which no other selectable GU10 here offers
- Five steps from 2700K to 5000K, so one pack covers a living room and a kitchen
- CRI 90, 40 degree beam and 25,000 hours on Luxrite's own page
- The Amazon listing states it is enclosed fixture rated
What it costs you
- The most expensive of the plain white picks per bulb
- 3-year warranty on Luxrite's page, against Feit's 5
- Same 40 degree beam as the rest - wide, not an accent beam
- Luxrite's page does not state the enclosed rating that the listing claims
Spec source: Luxrite - LR21504 GU10 LED (500 lm, 6.5W, 2700K-5000K selectable, CRI 90, 40 degree, 120V, 25,000 hours, 3-year warranty) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
03

High ceilings and long throws
Feit Electric MR16 GU10 Adjustable White LED, 75W Equivalent (BPMR16GU10753CCTCA/3)
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
600 lumens at CRI 90 from the same selectable family, for heads that sit too far from what they are meant to light.
| Lumens | 600 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 3000K, 4000K or 5000K, set on the bulb |
| CRI | 90 |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (7W, 120V) |
| Dimmable | Yes, with LED-compatible dimmers |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- 600 lm, a third more light than the 50W-equivalent version
- CRI 90 and the same three selectable color temperatures
- 40 degree beam, 25,000 hour rated life, damp rated
- Costs about the same as the dimmer 50W-equivalent bulb
What it costs you
- Still no 2700K setting
- Brighter heads glare more when they are in your sightline
- 7W in a head rated for 50W of halogen is fine, but the 75W-equivalent label confuses that check
- Sold in threes
Spec source: Feit Electric - BPMR16GU10753CCTCA/3 adjustable white GU10 MR16 (600 lm, 7W, CRI 90+, 40 degree, 25,000 hours, damp) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
04

Filling a whole track for the least money
DEWENWILS GU10 LED Bulb, Dimmable, 7W, 3000K, 6-Pack
500 lumens of warm white that dims, in a six-pack priced at roughly a third of the name-brand picks per bulb.
| Lumens | 500 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 3000K |
| CRI | Not published |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (7W) |
| Dimmable | Yes, per the listing |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- Six bulbs, which is the count a typical track actually needs
- 500 lm, the same output as the Luxrite, and it dims
- 3000K is the safe default for a kitchen or a hallway track
- The cheapest way here to make every head match
What it costs you
- No CRI published anywhere on the listing, so color quality is unknown
- No beam angle published, so you cannot predict the size of the pool of light
- DEWENWILS publishes no spec sheet we could open for this model
- 7W for 500 lm is the least efficient of the mains-voltage picks
Spec source: Amazon listing - DEWENWILS 6-pack GU10 LED, dimmable (3000K, 500 lm, 7W, 50W equivalent); no manufacturer spec page found - retrieved September 3, 2026.
05

Rooms where what the light lands on has color worth seeing
DiCUNO ProOE GU10 LED Bulb, CRI 98, 5W, 3000K, 6-Pack
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
The highest published CRI here by a distance, with a tighter 35 degree beam - and no dimming at all.
| Lumens | 400 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 3000K |
| CRI | 98, per the listing |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (5W) |
| Dimmable | No |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- CRI 98 claimed, above the CRI 90 of the Feit and Luxrite picks
- 35 degree beam, the tightest of the everyday picks
- Six bulbs per pack at a mid-range price
- 5W for 400 lm, the most efficient of the warm white picks
What it costs you
- Non-dimmable, which rules it out of any track on a dimmer
- 400 lm is the least light of the mains-voltage picks
- The CRI 98 figure is the seller's own, published only on the listing
- No rated life or warranty published on the listing
Spec source: Amazon listing - DiCUNO ProOE GU10 LED, 6-pack (5W, 400 lm, 3000K, CRI 98, 35 degree beam, non-dimmable) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
06

Accenting a picture, a plant or a worktop, not a room
Soraa Vivid MR16 GU10, 7.5W, 3000K, 10 Degree Narrow Spot (SM16GA-07-10D-930-03)
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
A 10 degree beam at CRI 95 with R9 95 - the only bulb here that puts a defined pool of light on one object.
| Lumens | 410 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 3000K |
| CRI | 95, with R9 95 |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (7.5W, 120V) |
| Dimmable | Yes, with compatible dimmers |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- 10 degree beam, where every other pick here is 35 to 40
- CRI 95 and R9 95, the only published deep-red figure on this page
- Built for 120V GU10 track and recessed heads, so no transformer question
- 25,000 hour rated life and a 3-year warranty on the distributor's spec listing
What it costs you
- By far the most expensive bulb here, several times the price of a three-pack of the Feit
- A 10 degree beam is wrong for general light - it lights an object, not a room
- Soraa's own spec sheet is a PDF we could not open, so the figures come from a distributor listing
- The Amazon listing does not state a pack count or the model number
Spec source: ProLampSales - Soraa 01115 Vivid LED MR16 GU10 (SM16GA-07-10D-930-03: 410 lm, 7.5W, 3000K, CRI 95, R9 95, 10 degree, 120V, 25,000 hours, 3-year warranty) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
07

A track you want to dim or recolor without a dimmer switch
Philips Hue Hue White and Color Ambiance GU10 Smart Spotlight
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
450 lumens at 4000K across a 2000K to 6500K range plus color, dimmable from the app over Bluetooth with no bridge to start.
| Lumens | 450 lm at 4000K |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 2000K - 6500K, plus color |
| CRI | Not published |
| Power source | Twists into a GU10 socket (4.7W, 110-130V) |
| Dimmable | Yes, from the app or a Hue dimmer - not from a wall dimmer |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap in an existing head. Fully reversible. |
What it gets right
- Dims without touching the wiring, which is the renter's way to dim a track
- 2000K to 6500K plus color, set per bulb rather than per pack
- Works over Bluetooth for up to 10 bulbs before a Hue Bridge is needed
- Philips publishes 25,000 hours and 110-130V input for the US model
What it costs you
- The most expensive way to fill a track, several times the cost per head
- No CRI published for this model
- 2-year warranty, against Feit's 5
- It must stay powered at the wall switch, so anyone flipping the switch off breaks the control
Spec source: Philips Hue - White and Color Ambiance GU10 spotlight (450 lm at 4000K, 4.7W, 2000-6500K, 110-130V, 25,000 hours, 2-year warranty) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
08

A low-voltage track or a range hood, where the pins push straight in
Sunco Lighting MR16 Two-Pin LED Bulb, 5.5W, 5000K, 12-Pack
#ad Price as of September 24, 2026. How we earn
The 12V GU5.3 bulb people buy by mistake when they need a GU10 - and the right answer when the fixture really is low voltage.
| Lumens | 550 lm |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | 5000K |
| CRI | 80+ on Sunco's GU5.3 page |
| Power source | Pushes into a GU5.3 socket (5.5W, 12V, needs a transformer) |
| Dimmable | Yes, per the listing |
| Renter-safe method | A bulb swap, but only in a fixture that already runs at 12V. |
What it gets right
- Twelve bulbs, enough for a whole low-voltage track
- 550 lm, the brightest per bulb of the everyday picks
- 25,000 hours and UL listed per the listing
- Also fits the GU5.3 sockets in many range hoods
What it costs you
- Will not fit a GU10 head - the pins are 5.3 mm apart and push in rather than twisting
- Needs a working 12V transformer, which is where low-voltage tracks usually fail
- 5000K only in this pack, which is cold for a living space
- Sunco's own GU5.3 page lists 5W and 500 lm at CRI 80+, where the listing sells a 5.5W at 550 lm
Spec source: Amazon listing - Sunco 12-pack MR16 two-pin LED (5.5W, 550 lm, 5000K, 25,000 hours, UL), against Sunco's own MR16 GU5.3 page (5W, 500 lm, CRI 80+, 40 degree, 12V) - retrieved September 3, 2026.
FAQ
Questions people actually ask
+What bulb does my track lighting take?
On most modern US track heads, a GU10: two blunt pins 10 mm apart that you push in and twist to lock. Take the old bulb out and look at the pins. Thin needle pins closer together mean a GU5.3 base and a 12V fixture, which takes a different bulb entirely.
+Are GU10 and MR16 the same thing?
No, and the overlap is why the wrong bulb arrives. MR16 is a reflector shape about two inches across; GU10 is a base. Feit, Amazon Basics and Soraa all sell bulbs described as MR16 with a GU10 base, and Sunco sells MR16 bulbs with a 12V GU5.3 base. Buy by the base, not the shape.
+Can I put LED GU10 bulbs in an old halogen track?
Yes, provided the base matches. A halogen GU10 head is commonly rated to 50 watts per head, and the LEDs here draw 4.7 to 7.5 watts, so you are far inside the rating. The one thing to check is the dimmer: an old dimmer sized for halogen may not dim LEDs smoothly.
+What beam angle should a track bulb have?
Roughly 35 to 40 degrees for general light on a counter or a wall, and 10 to 25 degrees to put a defined pool on one object. Most GU10 LEDs sold to households are 35 to 40 degrees, and the genuinely narrow ones are specialist products at several times the price.
+Why do my GU10 bulbs flicker on a dimmer?
Usually because the bulb is not dimmable - one pick here is not, and says so - or because the dimmer is a leading-edge type sized for halogen and the LED load is too small for it. Our dimmer compatibility guide covers which dimmer suits an LED load.
+How many lumens does each track head need?
The everyday GU10 LEDs here run 400 to 600 lumens each, so a four-head track puts out roughly 1,600 to 2,400 lumens. That suits a kitchen counter run or a living room wall. It is not enough to be the only light in a large room.
Sources
Where the numbers came from
- Feit Electric - BPMR16GU10503CCTCA/3 adjustable white GU10 MR16 (450 lm, 6W, CRI 90, 40 degree beam, 25,000 hours, damp rated, 5-year warranty)
- Feit Electric - BPMR16GU10753CCTCA/3 adjustable white GU10 MR16 (600 lm, 7W, CRI 90+, 40 degree beam, 25,000 hours)
- Feit Electric - BPMR16IFGU500930CA/3 fixed 3000K GU10 MR16 (450 lm, 6W, CRI 90, 40 degree beam, damp rated)
- Luxrite - LR21504 GU10 LED (500 lm, 6.5W, 2700K to 5000K selectable, CRI 90, 40 degree beam, 120V, 25,000 hours, TRIAC dimming, 3-year warranty)
- Amazon listing - DEWENWILS 6-pack GU10 LED, dimmable (3000K, 500 lm, 7W, 50W equivalent); no manufacturer spec page found
- Amazon listing - DiCUNO ProOE GU10 LED, 6-pack (5W, 400 lm, 3000K, CRI 98, 35 degree beam, non-dimmable)
- ProLampSales - Soraa 01115 Vivid LED MR16 GU10, SM16GA-07-10D-930-03 (410 lm, 7.5W, 3000K, CRI 95, R9 95, 10 degree beam, 120V, 25,000 hours, 3-year warranty)
- Philips Hue - White and Color Ambiance GU10 spotlight (450 lm at 4000K, 4.7W, 2000K to 6500K, 110-130V input, 25,000 hours, 2-year warranty)
- Philips Hue - GU10 vs MR16 bulbs (GU10 has two blunt pins 10 mm apart and twists in on line voltage; MR16 uses a GU5.3 base with pins 5.3 mm apart and runs on 12V through a transformer)
- Sunco Lighting - MR16 GU5.3 LED bulb (500 lm, 5W, 12V, CRI 80+, 40 degree beam, 25,000 hours, damp rated, 5-year warranty)
- Amazon listing - Amazon Basics MR16 LED with GU10 base (7W, 50W equivalent, 3000K, dimmable, 10,000 hour lifetime)
- 1000Bulbs - track light fixture, MR16 GU10 base, 50W max, Halo compatible
All sources retrieved September 3, 2026.
Next
Read these next
About the author
Sawyer V. An enthusiast who reads the spec sheets and does the arithmetic. No lab, no test bench.