Sconce & Socket earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we pick. Full disclosure.
| # | Product | Best for | Lumens | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | ![]() JinBest 100 LED Warm White Christmas String Lights, Green Wire, UL Certified A real tree, where the wire should disappear | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. | Not published | $19.99 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 11, 2026. How we earn |
| 02 | ![]() PREXTEX Clear Christmas Tree Lights, 200 Count, 40 ft, Warm Incandescent A full tree in one box | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. | Not published | $29.99 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 11, 2026. How we earn |
| 03 | ![]() Unbranded LED Christmas Tree Lights, 200 LED, 66 ft, 8 Flashing Modes The longest run for the least money | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. | Not published | |
| 04 | ![]() Twinkly Strings, 100 RGB LED, 26 ft, Green Wire, App Controlled A mapped tree rather than a mapped house | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. | Not published | $74.99 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 11, 2026. How we earn |
Specifications are the manufacturer or retailer published figures, compiled by hand. We have not measured them, and where a figure is not published we write "Not published" rather than guess.
01
The verdict
For most trees, the JinBest green wire set - warm white, green wire that vanishes into branches, and a UL certification stated on the listing, which much of this category omits. For a real tree where the glow matters most, the PREXTEX 200-count incandescent set still earns its place.
Tree lights are judged on three things and brightness is not one of them: whether the wire disappears by day, whether the color is warm enough to sit in a living room, and whether there is enough of it to finish the tree without a second trip to the shop.
| Set | Count | Length | Type | Wire | Safety listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JinBest | 100 LED | Not published | LED warm white | Green | UL certified, stated |
| PREXTEX | 200 | 40 ft | Incandescent | Green | Not stated |
| Twinkle fairy 200 | 200 LED | 66 ft | LED, 8 modes | Not published | Not stated |
| Twinkly Strings 100 | 100 RGB | 26 ft | LED addressable | Green | Not stated |
02
How these were judged
Four criteria, all of them things a buyer can check and a maker can be held to.
- Wire color against the tree. The most visible daytime property of a tree set and the one nobody checks before buying.
- Enough length to finish the job. At roughly 100 lights per foot of tree, a 6 ft tree wants about 600 - which is several of these boxes, and worth knowing before the first one goes on.
- A stated safety listing. These stay plugged in for weeks indoors. One set here states UL certification; the rest say nothing, and we report that rather than assuming.
- A steady setting that stays steady. Multi-mode sets that forget their mode after a power cut are a specific, common annoyance.
We did not test these. Every figure is the retailer listing's own, linked in the sources below, and no set here publishes a lumen or kelvin figure.
03
The picks
JinBest 100 LED, green wire - the pick. Warm white LEDs on green wire with UL certification stated - the combination that should be standard in this category and mostly is not.
Who it is for: any green real or artificial tree in a warm-lit room. Who should skip it: anyone with a white or flocked tree, where green wire is the one thing you will see.
Cons: no published length, so coverage is hard to plan; no lumen or kelvin figure; not dimmable; one set rarely finishes a tree over 6 ft.
PREXTEX 200 count, 40 ft incandescent - for the traditional glow. Two hundred bulbs over 40 ft finishes a 6 or 7 ft tree from one box, with incandescent color rendering that no LED set here publishes a figure to challenge.
Who it is for: a watered real tree, viewed close up, switched off at night. Who should skip it: anyone leaving the tree lit unattended, or lighting a dry tree late in the season.
Cons: far higher power draw than LED; real heat against needles; bulbs fail and need finding; no safety listing stated.
Twinkle fairy 200 LED, 66 ft - the budget long run. The longest run here by a distance and the cheapest per foot, with a steady mode among its eight.
Who it is for: a tall tree on a budget, or anyone needing a lot of length cheaply. Who should skip it: anyone who will be annoyed by a set that may come back on a flashing mode after a power cut.
Cons: no brand, no published kelvin, no safety listing stated; seven of the eight modes are ones most people never use; fine wire damages easily when untangling.
Twinkly Strings 100 - if you want effects. Per-LED addressing on green wire, app controlled and schedulable.
Who it is for: a tree that should do more than glow. Who should skip it: anyone whose tree is otherwise traditional warm white - the RGB white will not match.
Cons: many times the price per LED of a plain set; app setup needed; 26 ft is one small tree; RGB white is an approximation.
The picks
Every pick in full
01

A real tree, where the wire should disappear
JinBest 100 LED Warm White Christmas String Lights, Green Wire, UL Certified
#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. How we earn
Green wire and warm white LEDs with a UL certification stated - the indoor tree set where the cord vanishes into the branches instead of striping them.
| Lumens | Not published |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | Warm white; no kelvin figure published |
| CRI | Not applicable |
| Power source | Plugs into a standard outlet; 100 LEDs on green wire |
| Dimmable | No |
| Renter-safe method | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. |
What it gets right
- Green wire disappears against a real or artificial tree
- UL certification stated on the listing, which much of this category omits
- Warm white suits a living room where the rest of the light is warm
- 100 LEDs is one standard wrap for a small-to-medium tree
What it costs you
- No lumen or kelvin figure published
- Not dimmable
- Green wire looks wrong anywhere that is not a tree
- One set rarely finishes a tree over 6 ft
Spec source: Amazon listing - JinBest 100 LED Warm White Green Wire Christmas String Lights, UL Certified - retrieved September 3, 2026.
02

A full tree in one box
PREXTEX Clear Christmas Tree Lights, 200 Count, 40 ft, Warm Incandescent
#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. How we earn
200 incandescent bulbs over 40 ft - enough to finish a 6 or 7 ft tree from a single set, with the glow LED still struggles to copy.
| Lumens | Not published |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | Incandescent, which is about 2400-2700K by nature |
| CRI | Incandescent is CRI 100 by definition |
| Power source | Plugs into a standard outlet; 200 incandescent bulbs over 40 ft |
| Dimmable | Yes in principle, being incandescent - no dimmer is supplied |
| Renter-safe method | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. |
What it gets right
- 200 bulbs over 40 ft does a 6-7 ft tree without a second set
- Incandescent color rendering, which is the reference standard
- The traditional look, unambiguously
- Individually replaceable bulbs
What it costs you
- Power draw is far above an equivalent LED set
- Heat on a real tree is a genuine consideration
- Bulbs fail and need finding
- Not a set to leave running unattended for weeks
Spec source: Amazon listing - PREXTEX 200 Count Clear Christmas Tree Lights, 40 ft, Warm Incandescent - retrieved September 3, 2026.
03

The longest run for the least money
Unbranded LED Christmas Tree Lights, 200 LED, 66 ft, 8 Flashing Modes
66 ft and 200 LEDs with eight modes including a steady setting - the budget way to light a tall tree, provided you leave it on steady.
| Lumens | Not published |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | Not published |
| CRI | Not applicable |
| Power source | Plugs into a standard outlet; 200 LEDs over 66 ft |
| Dimmable | No - eight preset modes rather than a dimmer |
| Renter-safe method | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. |
What it gets right
- 66 ft is the longest single run named on this page
- 200 LEDs will finish a 7 ft tree on its own
- Eight modes, one of which is steady-on
- The cheapest per foot here
What it costs you
- No brand, no lumen figure and no kelvin figure published
- The seven non-steady modes are the reason most people regret flashing sets
- Mode resets to the first setting on some units after a power cut
- Fine wire is easy to damage when untangling
Spec source: Amazon listing - 66FT 200 LED Christmas Tree Lights, Twinkle Fairy Lights String with 8 Flashing Modes - retrieved September 3, 2026.
04

A mapped tree rather than a mapped house
Twinkly Strings, 100 RGB LED, 26 ft, Green Wire, App Controlled
#ad Price as of October 11, 2026. How we earn
The same addressable system at tree scale on green wire - the version to buy if the effects are going on a Christmas tree and not a roofline.
| Lumens | Not published |
|---|---|
| Color temperature | RGB - any color, including a white approximation |
| CRI | Not applicable |
| Power source | Plugs into a standard outlet; 100 individually addressable RGB LEDs over 26 ft |
| Dimmable | Yes, in the app |
| Renter-safe method | Plugs in. Nothing fixed to the building. |
What it gets right
- Green wire, so it disappears into a tree
- Same per-LED addressing and mapping as the larger set
- Costs appreciably less than the 250-LED version
- Dimmable and schedulable in the app
What it costs you
- 26 ft and 100 LEDs is one small tree, not a house
- Still expensive against a plain warm-white set of the same length
- RGB white is an approximation
- App setup required before it does anything interesting
Spec source: Amazon listing - Twinkly Strings 100 RGB LED, 26ft, Green Wire, Indoor/Outdoor - retrieved September 3, 2026.
FAQ
Questions people actually ask
+How many lights does a Christmas tree need?
The common rule is about 100 lights per foot of tree height for a full look, so a 6 ft tree takes roughly 600 and a 7 ft tree about 700. A hundred per foot is a dense, traditional result; 50 per foot reads sparse but acceptable on a slim tree. Buy by total count across sets rather than by number of boxes.
+Should Christmas tree lights have green or white wire?
Green, for a real or a green artificial tree - it disappears into the branches by daylight, which is when the wire is actually visible. White or clear wire is for a flocked or white tree. Black wire belongs on a facade, not a tree.
+Are incandescent tree lights still worth buying?
For a real tree viewed close up, there is a genuine case: incandescent is CRI 100 by definition and renders the reds and golds on a tree in a way LED holiday sets, which publish no CRI at all, cannot be shown to match. The trade is real heat on drying needles and much higher power draw, so it suits a watered tree that gets switched off at night.
+What do the eight modes on cheap LED sets do?
Seven of them flash, chase or fade, and one is steady-on. The steady setting is the one almost everyone uses. The practical warning is that some units reset to the first mode after a power cut, which means a flashing tree every time the timer cycles.
+Can I connect several tree light sets together?
Only up to the maximum connected run printed on the set, which varies by maker and is an electrical limit rather than a suggestion. LED sets chain much further than incandescent ones. If you need three or four sets on one tree, check that figure before you buy.
+Do tree lights need to be UL listed?
It is worth looking for, and a surprising amount of this category does not state it. A set that is left plugged in for weeks, indoors, around a tree is exactly the case a safety listing exists for. One set here states UL certification explicitly; most say nothing.
Sources
Where the numbers came from
- Amazon listing - JinBest 100 LED warm white green wire Christmas string lights, UL certified
- Amazon listing - PREXTEX 200 count clear Christmas tree lights, 40 ft, warm incandescent
- Amazon listing - 66 ft 200 LED Christmas tree lights, twinkle fairy lights, 8 flashing modes
- Amazon listing - Twinkly Strings, 100 RGB LED, 26 ft, green wire, indoor/outdoor
- U.S. Department of Energy - LED lighting, brightness and energy use explained
All sources retrieved September 3, 2026.
Next
Read these next
About the author
Sawyer V. An enthusiast who reads the spec sheets and does the arithmetic. No lab, no test bench.